Student Success and Enrollment Management » Office of Student Life & Development » Student Government Association

Student Government Association

All students at Medgar Evers College are members of the Student Government Association (SGA). The executive body of the SGA (president, day vice president, evening vice president, corresponding secretary, recording secretary, and treasurer) and elected class representatives constitute the Student Council. The SGA is concerned with many student activities including club budgets, the formation of new clubs, and the sponsoring of extra-curricular programs of intellectual, cultural and social value for the entire student body. The SGA also participates in the College’s decision-making processes that affect the general student body. Additionally, by participating in various college-wide and departmental committees, students have the opportunity to share in the full range of responsibilities present in the planning and governance of the academic and non-academic aspects of student life at Medgar Evers College.

Visit the office or send an email to find out how you can get involved in events and activities for the academic year or to offer feedback or comments. They welcome student support and participation at all levels and would love to hear from you.

2023-2024 Student Government Association Officers


Geraldyne Raphael ~ President
Major: Biology A.S. and Public Administration B.S.
Quote: If you’re silent about your pain, they will kill you and say you enjoyed it.

Abigail Evbuomwan ~ Day Vice President
Major: Business Administration
Quote: “A leader takes people where they want to go. A great leader takes people where they don’t necessarily want to go, but ought to be.” —Rosalynn Carter

Shania Louis-Byron ~ Corresponding Secretary
Major(s): Associate’s Degree in Mathematics and Bachelor’s Degree in Science, Biology.
Quote: “You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, and how you can still come out of it.” Maya Angelou

Laushea Clement ~ Treasurer
Major: AS in Science and BS of Science, Biology- Pre Med & Pre Grad.
Quote: N/A

Grace Adelani ~ Recording Secretary & Chief of Staff
Major: Biology
Quote: “The grass is always greener in someone else’s yard.”


Genesis Marcell ~ Senior Class President
Major: Childhood Education with a concentration in social studies
Quote: “Do not desire to fit in. Desire to oblige yourselves to lead.” – Gwendolyn Brooks

Naasihah Phillips ~ Senior Class Representative
Major: Computer Information Systems with a Minor in Finance.
Quote: “Empowering change as a female in tech, I drive my own career with purpose and passion, serving as an officer of the SGA. Breaking barriers, embracing challenges, and leading innovation, I strive to inspire the next generation of women to forge their paths fearlessly in the world of technology.”

MD Alam ~ Junior Class President
Major: Bachelor of Science in Business
Quote: “Poor people want to make a relationship with Hunger because they don’t want to die of hunger”(Jayhan).

Akira Cruz ~ Sophomore Class President
Major: Liberal Arts minoring in social work.
Quote:“ find out who you are and do it on purpose” – Dolly Parton.

Junior Andrews ~ Freshman Class President
Major: Bachelor of Fine Arts
Quote: “Art is life and life is Art.”