



## **Meeting Information**

Date: Monday, December 11, 2023 Time: 11:30 AM – 12:45 PM Location: Founder's Auditorium (Bedford Building)

## Agenda

I. Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 11:45 with a quorum by President Ramsey

II. Approval of Agenda

A motion to approve the meeting agenda was seconded.

The motion passed by unanimous vote, ' yea'.

III. Approval of October 23, 2023, meeting minutes

A motion to approve the minutes was seconded.

The motion was passed by unanimous vote, ' yea'.

Note: The November meeting did not meet quorum, no minutes.

IV. The President's Report

The CUNY graduation rate of baccalaureate degree programs only depends on *first-time freshmen* enrollees, thus, nearly ninety percent of the students at MEC are not represented in the static. The number of associate degree recipients declined from 21.8% in 2016 to 17.8% in 2018; the total numbers are categorized (and counted) into the 4-year degree as transfers. Therefore, the associate degree programs at MEC are more informative in providing a complete profile of students' progression to degree completion at the College. The Self-Study begins this year (through 2026) and will include strategies to address graduation rates.

V. Curriculum Committee Report – new programs/courses

a. Presentation of Sociology 319 and 320

Professor Owen Brown presented the new courses SOC 319 and 320 to the College Council.

Motion to approve the course was seconded. The motion passed with a unanimous vote, 'yea'.

VI. Announcement of the Parliamentarian

Shirley Irick will serve as the Parliamentarian for the College Council term 2023-25.

VII. Governance Amendment Ratification Vote Outcome

The ratification vote (September 16, 2023) of the Governance plan passed with the required 2/3 vote of the number of submitted ballots.

VIII. College Council nominations

a. Executive Board Officers: Vice President and Executive Secretary

The following are nominees for the position of Vice President

- Owen Brown
- Edward Catapane
- Sikiru Fadairo

A motion to close the nominations was seconded, and approved unanimously, 'all yea'

Nominee for Executive Secretary

Gelonia Dent

A motion to close nominations was seconded. The President announced that Dr. Dent will serve as Executive Secretary, uncontested.

b. Nomination of Executive Board Faculty Members (4):

The following nominees for the faculty positions on the Executive Board are:

- Rupam Saran<sup>i</sup>
- Terrence Blackman
- Tabora Johnson
- Fabienne Snowden

A motion to close the nominations was seconded, and approved unanimously, 'all yea'.

c. One (1) Committee on Governance (LIBA exempt)

Nominee for Governance Committee

• Andrii lurov

The vote for the nominations will be conducted by electronic ballot.

The minutes were prepared by Dr. Gelonia Dent, executive secretary of the College Council.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> Only members of the College Council are eligible to serve on the Executive Board. The replacement candidate, Simon Best, appeared on the electronic ballot.