MINUTES OF THE COLLEGE COUNCIL COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE MEDGAR EVERS COLLEGE FEBRUARY 6, 2023

Absent:

Professor Gregorio Mayers

Grace Carter-St. Hill, Classified Civil Service

Lucius Priester, President, Alumni Association

Joanna Dorsey President, Student Government

CLT/HEO (Vacancy—Election ever held?)

Paige Adjara, Elected Student Member

In Attendance:

Prof. Victoria Chevalier (Chair)

Prof. William Carr

Julie Augustin, HEO Elect

Prof. Kathleen Barker

Shirley Irick, Esq., President Designee

Prof. Ken Irish-Bramble

Prof. Donna Wright

Prof. Harsha Rajapakse

Prof. Jade Robertson

Katie Davis, President, Community Council

1. **Call to Order:** 11:35 AM

2. **Approval of Agenda:** Dr. Kathleen Barker motioned to approve the Agenda. Julie Augustin seconded. Agenda was approved unanimously 9-0-0.

3. **Approval of December 12, 2023 minutes.** Dr. Donna Wright motioned to approve the minutes. Katie Davis seconded. Minutes were approved unanimously 9-0-0.

4. We discussed our Governance Committee's language on Academic Standards and Regulations with revisions. The following revisions were proposed:

A. Committee on Academic Standards and Regulations

(1) Functions: The Committee on Academic Standards and Regulations shall review, recommend, and resolve policy governing academic regulations of the College concerning grade appeals, probation status, and graduate certification. It shall ensure the equitable and orderly administration of the processes to resolve matters relating to these academic standards. It shall serve as the final appeals body at the College to render decision on the above academic matters and shall submit recommendations to the College Council.

(2) Membership: Membership on this Committee shall consist of one (1) faculty member from each department, two (2) students, and the Provost. The Registrar and the Director of Academic Advising shall be non-voting members.

(3) Election Procedures: Faculty representatives to the committee shall be elected from and by the full-time faculty in each department. The two (2) student representatives shall be recommended by the Executive Board of the Student Government Association and approved by the Student Government Association.

Motion to vote was proposed by Dr. Kathleen Barker and seconded by Dr. Harsha Rajapaske.

Vote 8 -0-1, This amendment was approved with a majority vote and one abstention.

5. We discussed our Governance Committee's language in Governance Plan amended 2017 with revisions. The following revisions were proposed:

Governance Committee amendment to Governance Plan (amended) 2017.

d. Committee on Governance

1. (1) Functions. The Committee on Governance shall review, on a continuing basis, the structure and process of governance at the College and shall recommend amendments to the Governance Plan.

(2) Membership. The Committee on Governance shall consist of the (a) President or his/her designee, (b) four faculty members selected by the President, (c) four faculty members elected by and from the faculty Members of the College Council, (d) the President of the Student Government Association and (e) one student elected by and from the student members of the College Council, (f) the three Members of the College Council each of whom is working in one of the following three titles, respectively: higher education officer, college laboratory technician, and classified civil service; (g) a designated officer authorized by the Community Council; h) and a designated officer authorized by the Alumni Association.

Motion was to vote was made by Dr. Kathleen Barker and seconded by Dr. Harsha Rajapaske. Vote 9 -0-0, This amendment was approved unanimously.

6. New Business: Dr. Chevalier will send out a model preamble and mission via Google docs for us to review and edit for next meeting.

9. Adjournment: 1:03 PM

Respectfully submitted,

4/2 Can

William Carr

Secretary pro tem