Full-time Faculty in the Department of Mathematics

Email addresses end in @mec.cuny.edu
Phone numbers are of the form 718-270-XXXX
Offices are in the AB1 building (1638 Bedford Avenue)

Najja Al-Islam (email: nalislam, phone: 6178, office: L05C)
PhD Howard University 2009
Research interests: functional analysis, partial differential equations, numerical analysis

Joshua Berenbom (email: joshua, phone: 6424, office: L05B)
PhD Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn 1973
Research interests: nonarchimedian algebras
 
Rupert Brown (email: rupertb, phone: 4939, office: 411)
 
Gelonia Dent (email: gdent, phone: 6433, office: L05G)
PhD Brown University 1999
Research interests: fluid dynamics

Robert Donley (email: rdonley, phone: 6417)
PhD State University of New York at Stony Brook 1996
Research interests: representation theory

Tatyana Flesher (email: tatyana, phone: 6423, office: L05R)
PhD Moscow Pedagogical University 1989
Research interests: algebra, methodology of teaching mathematics

Mahendra Kawatra (email: mahendra, phone: 6430, office: L05H)
PhD University of Delhi 1962
Research interests: statistical mechanics, magnetism and atomic physics

Kay Lashley (email: klashley, phone: 6924, office: L01)
MSEd Brooklyn College 2009
Research interests: developmental mathematics

Khosrow Mansouri (email: kmansouri, phone: 6178, office: L05E)
MA New York University 1982
Research interests: statistics, number theory, topology

Darius Movasseghi (email: darius, phone: 6416, office: L05F)
PhD University of Toledo 1972
Research interests: analytic functions, use of computer algebra systems in teaching

Umesh Nagarkatte (email: umesh, phone: 6425, office: L08E)
PhD City University of New York 1976
Research interests: algebraic number theory and geometry, interdisciplinary research

Herbert Odunukwe (email: hodunukwe, phone: 4954, office: 403C)
MS Polytechnic Institute of NYU 2003 and MEngr City College of New York 2001
Research interests: design, process integration, and fabrication of MEMS devices; technology adaptation in teaching and learning of developmental math

Philip Ording (email: pording, phone: 5084, office: L05N)
PhD Columbia University 2006
Research interests: geometry and topology

Homeira Pajoohesh (email: hpajoohesh, phone: 6125, office: L08A)
PhD Shahid Beheshti University 2003
Research interests: lattice theory, topology and applications to computer science
 
Wayne D Russell (email: wrussell, phone: 4959, office: L01)
MS Polytechnic University 2002
Research interests: dynamic self-regulated learning, incorporating blended learning models in order to optimize performance in developmental mathematics for the 'at risk' population

Lavoizier Saint Jean (email: ljean, phone: 5108, office: 411)
MA City College of New York 1995

Mahmoud Sayrafiezadeh (email: msayraf, phone: 6427, office: L05D)
PhD University of Minnesota-Minneapolis 1969
Research interests: geometry of convex sets, topics in undergraduate mathematics

Ventura Simmons (email: ventura, phone: 6420, office: L05P)
MA City University of New York 1986
Research interests: algebra

Joshua Sussan (email: jsussan, phone: 6421, office: L05M)
PhD Yale University 2007
Research interests: representation theory, quantum topology, categorification

Raymond Thomas (email: rthomas, phone: 6428, office: L05T)
MA City University of New York 1998
Research interests: complex dynamics, hyperbolic geometry
 
Cesar Valverde (email: cvalverde, phone: 6472, office: L08D)
PhD Rutgers University Newark 2012
Research interests: automorphic forms, representation theory, number theory

Bart Van Steirteghem (email: bartvs, phone: 6429, office: L05V)
PhD Columbia University 2004
Research interests: algebraic transformation groups