Education Department

Dr. Sheilah Marion Paul, Department

Associate Professor, Chair
PhD/Columbia University
Office: B1007-H
Tel: 718-270-4936
spaul@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Rosalina Diaz

Associate Professor, PhD/The Graduate Center, CUNY
Office: B1007-J
Tel: 718-270-4916
rdiaz@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Ken J. Hoyte

Associate Professor, PhD/Brandeis University
Office: B1007-C
Tel: 718-270-4829
khoyte@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Tabora Johnson

Assistant Professor, EdD/Mills College
Office: B1007-D
Tel: 718-270-4978
tjohnson@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Frances Y. Lowden

Professor, PhD/ University of South Carolina
Office: B1007-G
Tel: 718-270-4918
lowden@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Rupam Saran

Assoc. Professor, PhD/The Graduate Center, CUNY
Office: B1007-K
Tel: 718-270-4937
rsaran@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Donna Marie A. Wright

Associate Professor, PhD/The Graduate Center, CUNY
Office: B1007-L
Tel: 718-270-4911
dwright@mec.cuny.edu

Education Department Staff

Dr. Alicia Collins

Higher Education Officer/EdD
Advisor &Early Field Supervisor
Tel: 718-270-4991
acollins@mec.cuny.edu

Ms. Regina Robbins

rrobbins@mec.cuny.edu
Tel: 718-270-4910
Administrative Assistant

Ms. Janelle Edwards

College Assistant/Grants Assistant
jedwards@mec.cuny.edu
Tel: 718-270-8293

English Department

Dr. Brenda Greene

Professor, Chair
Ph.D., New York University
Tel: 718-270-4941
bgreene@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Susan Fischer

Professor
Ph.D., University of London
Tel: 718-270-4993
safischer@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Keming Liu

Professor
Ed.D. Teachers College, Columbia University
Tel: 718-270-4951
kliu@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Carlyle Thompson

Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
Tel: 718-270-4945
Carlyle@mec.cuny.ed

Prof. Linda Jackson

Associate Professor
MFA, MA, Brooklyn College, CUNY
Tel: 718-270-4946
ljackson@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Andrea Loewenstein

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Sussex University
Tel: 718-270-4934
Loewenstein@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Natasha Gordon-Chipembere

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of South Africa
Tel: 718-270-4925
ngordon@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Victoria Chevalier

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
Tel: 718-270-2131
VChevalier@mec.cuny.edu

Prof. Tonya Hegamin

Assistant Professor
MFA, New School University
Tel: 718-270-4846
thegamin@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Hyo Kim

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Stony Brook University
Tel: 718-270-5032
hkim@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Lorraine Kuziw

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., New York University
Tel: 718-270-4943
lkuziw@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Yvonne McCallum-Peters

Assistant Professor
Ed.D., Teachers College, Columbia University
Tel: 718-270-4872
ypeters@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Todd Craig

Assistant Professor
D.A. St. Johns University
Tel: 718-270-8285
ToddCraig@mec.cuny.edu

Prof. Ivor Baker

Lecturer
MA. Brooklyn College, CUNY
Tel: 718-270-4938
ibaker@mec.cuny.edu

Prof. Karen Pitt

Lecturer
MA, Long Island University
Tel: 718-270-4833
kpitt@mec.cuny.edu

Prof. Joanna Sit

Lecturer
BA, MFA, Brooklyn College, CUNY
Tel: 718-270-4843
jsit@mec.cuny.edu

English Department Staff

Kamau Chow-Tai

Lab Technician
Tel: 718-270-4956
Tchow@mec.cuny.edu

Shakima Scott

Administrative Assistant
Tel: 718-270-4940
sscott@mec.cuny.edu

Foreign Languages Department

Dr. J. Bottaro

Chair
Office B-2032M
Tel: 718-270-6263
jbottaro@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. Senen Vivero

Deputy Chair
Office B-2032S
Tel: 718-270-4942
vivero@mec.cuny.edu

Dr. MarĂ­a Luisa Ruiz

Assistant Prof.
Office B-2032L
Tel: 718-270-6263
mlruiz@mec.cuny.edu

Ana Melendez

Lecturer 
B-2032Q
Tel: 718-270-6263
amelendez@mec.cuny.edu

Oscar Franco

Lecturer 
Language Lab Coordinator
B-2034
Tel: 718-270-4958
ofranco@mec.cuny.edu

Regina Robbins

Department Secretary
Tel: 718-270-4958
Department Fax:(718) 270-4987
rrobbins@mec.cuny.edu

Mass Communications Department

Bynum, Dwayne

Lecturer, BA, MA/Brooklyn College

Ezuma, Chukwumeziri Nathaniel

Lecturer, BA, MA/Brooklyn College

Brathwaite, Beatrice

Lecturer, BA,MA/Brooklyn College

Crawford, Clinton

Professor, BA/University of Wisconsin, MA/University of California,
EdD/Teachers College, Columbia University

Glover, Izell

Lecturer, BA/New York Institute of Technology

Green, Verna

Asst. Professor, BA/Brooklyn College, MA, M.Ed, EdD/Columbia University

Jenkins, Jimmy

Lecturer, BA/North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State
University; MA/University of North Florida

Johnson, Alfred

Lecturer, MM/New York University

McMillian, Glen

Lecturer, MM/5 Towns College

Mitchell, Roman

Lecturer, MA/Rutgers University

Phillips, Moses Bernard

Lecturer, BM/Florida State University School of Music, MM/Rice University Shepherd School of Music

Thompson, Iola

Assoc. Professor, BA/Columbia University, MA/Northwestern
University, EdM, EdD/Columbia University

Philosophy and Religion Department

FitzGerald, Michael

Professor, BA/Colgate University, PhD/New School for Social
Research

Gilliams, Sheila H.

Asst. Professor, M.Div/New Brunswick Theological Seminary, M. Phil
and PhD/Union Theological Seminary

Jean-Marie, Vivaldi

Asst. Professor, BA/Concordia University, MA/Brock University, PhD/
New School for Social Research

Seay, Gary

Assoc. Professor, BA/Okalahoma City University, MA/Rice University,
PhD/Georgetown University

Trimiew M., Daryl

Professor

Psychology Department

Kathleen Barker, PhD

Professor
kbarker@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-P, Tel: 718-270-4854
PhD: The Graduate Center, CUNY; BA: City University of New York

Justin Coleman, PhD

Assistant Professor
jucoleman@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 2032-H, Tel: 718-270-4839
PhD: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; MA: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; BA: California State University, Los Angeles

Ethan Gologor, PhD

Professor/Dept. Chair
ethan@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-G, Tel: 718-270-4852
PhD: New School for Social Research; MA: New York University; BS: City College of New York, CUNY

Hollie Lynn Jones, PhD

Associate Professor
hjones@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-R, Tel: 718-270-4989
PhD: Hunter College, CUNY; MA: Hunter College, CUNY; BA: Goucher College

Maudry-Beverley Lashley, PhD

Assistant Professor
mlashley@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-E, Tel: 718-270-4995
PhD: Howard University; MA: Hunter College, CUNY; BA: Hunter College, CUNY

Nancy Oley, PhD

Professor
oley@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-M, Tel: 718-270-4861
PhD: Columbia University; BA: Barnard College

John Sumerlin, PhD

Professor
jsumerlin@mec.cuny.edu
Bedford 1032-U, Tel: 718-270-6232
PhD: New York University; MA: University of West Florida; BA: University of West Florida

Social and Behavioral Sciences Department

Awolabi, Obasegun

Asst. Professor, BA, MA, Phd/American University

Brown, Owen

Assoc. Professor, BA, MA, PhD/Binghampton University

Cuffee, Sallie

Assoc. Professor, BA/State University, MPhil, PhD/Union Theological
Seminar of New York, MDiv, Wesley Theological Seminar

Harris-Hastick, Eda

Professor, BA, Queens College, CUNY, M.S.W., Smith College
School of Social Work, Ed.D., Teachers College Columbia University

Hunter, Delridge

Professor, BA/Prairie View A&M University, MS/Northern Illinois
University, PhD/Union Institute and University

Irish, George

Professor, BA/University of the West Indies, PhD/University of the
West Indies

Oguagha, Philip

Assoc. Professor, PhD/Institute of Techonology

Snowden, Scharlene

Assoc. Professor, BA/Our Lady of the Elms College, M.P.H., MSW/
Columbia University, DSW/Graduate Center, CUNY

Reid, Elaine

Asst. Professor, BS/Hofstra University, MSW/Hunter College, CUNY

Uzozie, Levi

Assoc. Professor, BS/Durham University; MA/University of Ibadan,
PhD/University of London