Student Government Association

All students of Medgar Evers College are members of the Student Government Association (SGA). The executive body of the SGA (president, day vice president, evening vice president, corresponding secretary, recording secretary, and treasurer) and elected class representatives constitute the Student Council. The SGA is concerned with many student activities including club budgets, the formation of new clubs, and the sponsoring of extra-curricular programs of intellectual, cultural and social value for the entire student body. The SGA also participates in the College’s decision-making processes that affect the general student body.
 
Additionally, by participating in various college-wide and departmental committees, students have the opportunity to share in the full range of responsibilities present in the planning and governance of the academic and non-academic aspects of student life at Medgar Evers College. The following is the membership for the 2014-2015 Student Council:
 

 
PRESIDENT
Dexter Roberts
deroberts@mec.cuny.edu
DAY VICE PRESIDENT
Donnley Castello-Edwards
dcastello-edwards@mec.cuny.edu
EVENING VICE PRESIDENT
Judith Alexander
jalexander@mec.cuny.edu
CORRESPONDING SECRETARY
Jessica Leighton
jleighton@mec.cuny.edu
RECORDING SECRETARY
Danielle Hendricks
dhendricks@mec.cuny.edu
TREASURER
Shaunakay Morgan
smorgan@mec.cuny.edu
SENIOR CLASS PRESIDENT
Marsha Escayg
mescayg@mec.cuny.edu
SENIOR CLASS REPRESENTATIVE
Andrew Elysee
aelysee@mec.cuny.edu
SENIOR CLASS REPRESENTATIVE
Fabienne Mondelus
fmondelus@mec.cuny.edu
SENIOR CLASS REPRESENTATIVE
Nia Tilghman
NTilghman@mec.cuny.edu
JUNIOR CLASS PRESIDENT
Naomi Chandler
nchandler@mec.cuny.edu
JUNIOR CLASS REPRESENTATIVE
Webster Desruisseaux
wdesruisseaux@mec.cuny.edu
 

The Student Government Association office is located in Room S-210 of the Student Support Services Building and can be reached via e-mail at student-gov@mec.cuny.edu or by phone (718) 270-6240.